Warning to Web Designers and Developers

Posted on

Administrator Since: Apr 03, 2002

I know lots of people here have their own web sites, build them for clients, etc, so I wanted to offer a little info so you know.

There is a new host out there www.anshost.com that is a scam. It is owned by somebody that has run a few hosting companies into the ground, screwed over clients, stolen time, money and domains.

The last company, Credible Host, was acquired by HostPC, and she screwed over HostPC.

She still has a couple loyal minions and professes to be this Christian, loving, moral person. In truth she is a scammer, starts a business, builds it up, then shuts it down and runs with the money.

Be warned, do not use this new hosting service.

[ Back to Top ]

Prince CZAR-ming
Since: Apr 08, 2004

Jul 26, 2006 09:13 am

Thanks for the heads up dB,

on the theme of warning people:

Subject: security news

-- IRS Warns Taxpayers of E-Mail Scam Using US Treasury Payment Systems
(24 July 2006)
Fake e-mail messages containing several misspellings and purporting to
be from a fictitious IRS organization are circulating. They claim that
someone has enrolled the recipient's credit card in the US Treasury's
Electronic Federal Tax Payment System and has tried to use the credit
card to pay taxes. The messages instruct recipients to click on a link
to recover the money, but the link takes them to a malicious Web page
that tries to gather sensitive personal information. This scam is one
of more than 100 since last November. in which perpetrators have tried
to impersonate the IRS in attempts to fool victims into divulging
personal and/or financial information or into downloading malicious
www.computerworld.com/act...&articleId= 9001961&source=NLT_PM&nlid=8
[Editor's Note (Tan): Cybercrimimals are starting to time their attacks
to persuade users to fall into their trap. Before April 15, there was a
scam on tax filing. Now we see another one on tax payment.
www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,125155,00.asp ]

*Edit* oop, that first link didn't quite go through correctly. Can an admin fix for me? thanks.

Cone Poker
Since: Apr 07, 2002

Jul 26, 2006 09:29 am

I tried fixin that link for ya, but I think the link is just too long for the box...

Prince CZAR-ming
Since: Apr 08, 2004

Jul 26, 2006 09:35 am

thanks, well, one can just cut and paste the rest of the link into the url box.

Czar of Midi
Since: Apr 04, 2002

Jul 26, 2006 10:32 pm

Thanx dB, but I dont see leaving HostPC anytime soon.

Related Forum Topics:

If you would like to participate in the forum discussions, feel free to register for your free membership.